WARNING: The forum is now in read-only mode as we will soon be transitioning to different forum software. Feel free to join our Discord server in the meantime.
tremorpv
Posts:3
Joined:Mon Jan 04, 2016 7:32 am
Private server is only allowing localhost (me) to join.

Mon Jan 04, 2016 7:41 am

Hi,

I was at first having an issue with the server showing the correct settings (i.e. name of server, hardcore, etc). But that was just me messing with the StartServer.bat and making the directory path wrong.

Before I fixed that, my server would appear correctly in the server list in BFBC2 once I'd logged in with my emulationnexus account.

After I fixed that, and it started using my ServerOptions.ini file correctly, it now won't list in the Server Browser.

See attachments for log files.

But here is the Warning I'm seeing in them:

Code: Select all

[UTC 01/04/2016 07:11:14.010] TnT/Core/Streams/SocketStreamManagerTcp.cpp(61): "Main": Warning: Only localhost will be able to connect
 


Which I imagine is my issue, though I'm not sure what actually is the problem. I forwarded the ports on my router before even starting the server the first time (thus why it worked when it wasn't using ServerOptions.ini).

Here is my ServerOptions.ini:

Code: Select all

[Options]
Name=BFBC2 Battle Grounds (Vit)
RemoteAdminPort=48888
Port=19567
RemoteAdminPassword=123
Punkbuster=false
Ranked=true
BannerUrl=
ServerDescription="Where boys become men."
NumGameClientSlots=32

RevisionLevel = 8
RevisionKey = 7C0A303E-F4D2-985E-763D-E7C41B1E06A3
GameModID = VIETNAM


And here is my StartServer.bat:

Code: Select all

@echo off

::Edit the following parameters

::Enter your Serverinstancefolder (e.g. bc2)
set instancefolder=bc2
::Only change this, when you want to run a Vietnamserver (1 - enabled; 0 - disabled
set vietnam=1
::Change this to set your serverlocation (e.g. EU)
set region=NAm
::Change this to set a title for the commandprompt (e.g. Bad Company 2: Best Maps)
set title=Bad Company 2: Vietnam



:: Do not touch anything after that, unless you know what you do!
title %title%
:server
echo Starting server...
cd C:\Users\user\Downloads\BFBC2-Server\bin
Frost.Game.Main_Win32_Final.exe -serverInstancePath "..\instances\%instancefolder%" -mapPack2Enabled %vietnam% -port 19567 -timeStampLogNames -region %region% -heartBeatInterval 20000 -displayErrors 1 -displayAsserts 0 -plasmalog 1
echo.
echo Server is restarting in 5 seconds...
ping -n 5 127.0.0.1 > nul
goto server


Other unrelated warnings:

Code: Select all

[UTC 01/04/2016 07:11:13.166] TnT/Core/Thread/JobQueue.cpp(91): "Main": Info: JobQueue[lq,0] created (0)
[UTC 01/04/2016 07:11:13.167] TnT/Core/Serialization/DatabaseImpl.cpp(198): "Main": Warning: Unknown type ShaderGraph in manifest EmergencyBindings/Type entry!
[UTC 01/04/2016 07:11:13.167] TnT/Core/Thread/JobQueue.cpp(91): "Main": Info: JobQueue[AsyncResourceLoader,0] created (0)
[UTC 01/04/2016 07:11:13.168] TnT/Core/File/BundleBackend.cpp(41): "Main": Warning: Couldn't mount bundle '/data/dist/win32/streaming_sounds-00.fbrb'
[UTC 01/04/2016 07:11:13.168] TnT/Core/File/BundleBackend.cpp(78): "Main": Info: Bundle backend for /data/dist/Win32/streaming_sounds ready with 0 nodes in storage
[UTC 01/04/2016 07:11:13.168] TnT/Core/File/BundleBackend.cpp(41): "Main": Warning: Couldn't mount bundle '/data/dist/win32/async/ondemand_sounds-00.fbrb'
[UTC 01/04/2016 07:11:13.168] TnT/Core/File/BundleBackend.cpp(78): "Main": Info: Bundle backend for /data/dist/Win32/async/ondemand_sounds ready with 0 nodes in storage
[UTC 01/04/2016 07:11:13.168] TnT/Core/Resource/ResourceManager.cpp(1963): "Main": Warning: Added /sound/ondemand/ as a mount directory, but there's no VFS mount backing it
[UTC 01/04/2016 07:11:13.168] TnT/Core/File/BundleBackend.cpp(41): "Main": Warning: Couldn't mount bundle '/data/dist/win32/async/ondemand_awards-00.fbrb'
[UTC 01/04/2016 07:11:13.168] TnT/Core/File/BundleBackend.cpp(78): "Main": Info: Bundle backend for /data/dist/Win32/async/ondemand_awards ready with 0 nodes in storage
[UTC 01/04/2016 07:11:13.168] TnT/Core/Resource/ResourceManager.cpp(1963): "Main": Warning: Added /async/awards/ as a mount directory, but there's no VFS mount backing it
[UTC 01/04/2016 07:11:13.900] TnT/Core/Resource/ResourceManager.cpp(1482): "JobQueue[lq,0]": Info: startup (1 segment): loaded 0 resources touched in 0.033 s
[UTC 01/04/2016 07:11:13.900] TnT/Core/Serialization/DatabaseImpl.cpp(2883): "Main": Info: Resolved 0 partitions in 0.001 seconds,139 remaining.
[UTC 01/04/2016 07:11:13.901] TnT/Core/Resource/ResourceManager.cpp(2440): "Main": Info: Consolidated 0 deferred handles; had to load 0 from disk
 


Code: Select all

[UTC 01/04/2016 07:11:14.049] TnT/Core/Profiler/CpuTimingProvider.cpp(69): "Main": Warning: Couldn't find CPU index for timing event in any job thread. Adding CPU timing events outside the main thread or the job threads is not supported. Thread id: 00000478. Assuming this is the main thread on CPU0


Code: Select all

[UTC 01/04/2016 07:11:16.315] TnT/Core/File/VirtualFileSystem.cpp(1026): "Main": Warning: Couldn't create directory 'local' leading up to 'local/'


That's all I got.

RuntimeLog_BFBC2-host_server_2016.01.04_07.11.13.166.log
Log file for BFBC2 private server
(28.75KiB)Downloaded 336 times


Thanks,
Tremor.

tremorpv
Posts:3
Joined:Mon Jan 04, 2016 7:32 am

Re: Private server is only allowing localhost (me) to join.

Tue Jan 05, 2016 1:26 am

No one has any advice to give regarding this?

I looked at the log for when it works vs when it doesn't.

As posted in the OP, it says only the local host can connect after mentioning the salt & hash.

When it can't find the instance folder, it says this instead:

Code: Select all

[UTC 01/05/2016 01:22:26.646] Engine/Game/Server/ServerAdministration.cpp(789): "Main": Info: Connection password salt: 351E19A61B6E3475FF8EBF5C4DAC9256
[UTC 01/05/2016 01:22:26.647] Engine/Game/Server/Server.cpp(1160): "Main": Info: Attempting listen to :1003
[UTC 01/05/2016 01:22:26.647] Engine/Game/Server/Server.cpp(1177): "Main": Info: Successful.
[UTC 01/05/2016 01:22:26.647] Engine/Game/Online/Engine/Server/ServerPeer.cpp(1370): "Main": Info: The server is called 'OBLIVION-WIN'
[UTC 01/05/2016 01:22:26.647] Engine/Game/Server/Server.cpp(1618): "Main": Info: Chosen region: NAm


So, it's listening on 1003 and it's working. It doesn't mention a password hash though.

... I'm not sure what the issue is still unfortunately beyond that.

tremorpv
Posts:3
Joined:Mon Jan 04, 2016 7:32 am

Re: Private server is only allowing localhost (me) to join.

Tue Jan 05, 2016 7:04 am

This is solved.

The Server was working fine. I just wasn't looking in the Vietnam server browser. :| #FAIL

User avatar
RobbingHood
Posts:3305
Joined:Mon Dec 17, 2012 8:50 pm

Re: Private server is only allowing localhost (me) to join.

Tue Jan 05, 2016 11:58 am

Glad it turned out that way since I had no idea what was going on by looking at the logs :P

Return to “Help and Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests