WARNING: The forum is now in read-only mode as we will soon be transitioning to different forum software. Feel free to join our Discord server in the meantime.
User avatar
NoFaTe
Blazin' your Brains!
Posts:520
Joined:Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:22 pm
Contact: Website
Re: ELO and Skill level

Wed Jul 02, 2014 7:05 pm

Rodney wrote:"Skill" in BC2 (not elo) has a cap of 200 and starting value of 0.

BTW "Skill" ingame is "level" in the API. As it is calculated by the backend and not by the server, contrary to elo, it is zero for everybody because NoFaTe doesn't have that implemented.

I think skill might be calculated with KDA, spm, sqapm (squad actions per minute) and maybe some other stuff like accuracy.

I hadn't noticed that the 'level' value required server-side calculation.
I'll take a look and implement it whenever I can (granted I figure out how it's calculated).
[03:55:41] <~Bag> Yes, I can put things inside me when I need to

User avatar
Rodney
Posts:427
Joined:Mon Dec 17, 2012 7:56 pm
Location:On the Battlefield
Contact: Website WLM Yahoo Messenger AOL Facebook Skype Twitter YouTube

Re: ELO and Skill level

Wed Jul 02, 2014 7:15 pm

NoFaTe wrote:
Rodney wrote:"Skill" in BC2 (not elo) has a cap of 200 and starting value of 0.

BTW "Skill" ingame is "level" in the API. As it is calculated by the backend and not by the server, contrary to elo, it is zero for everybody because NoFaTe doesn't have that implemented.

I think skill might be calculated with KDA, spm, sqapm (squad actions per minute) and maybe some other stuff like accuracy.

I hadn't noticed that the 'level' value required server-side calculation.
I'll take a look and implement it whenever I can (granted I figure out how it's calculated).

I might have missed a "as far as I can tell" there, but that would explain why everybody has a "0" as value for this stats key (according to the API).

Also according to the server files it is read-only:

Code: Select all

    <field name="Name">level</field>
    <field name="Description" />
    <field name="DefaultValue">0</field>
    <field name="ValueType">PersistentValueType_Set</field>
    <field name="ClientFlags">PersistentValueProtection_ReadOnly</field>
    <field name="ServerFlags">PersistentValueProtection_ReadOnly</field>
    <field name="WritePolicy">PersistentValueWritePolicy_Disconnect</field>
    <field name="Authorative">false</field>

While for example elo/elo0/elo1 are defined as read/write for the server.

Code: Select all

    <field name="Name">elo</field>
    <field name="Description" />
    <field name="DefaultValue">1000.0</field>
    <field name="ValueType">PersistentValueType_Set</field>
    <field name="ClientFlags">PersistentValueProtection_ReadOnly</field>
    <field name="ServerFlags">PersistentValueProtection_ReadAndWrite</field>
    <field name="WritePolicy">PersistentValueWritePolicy_Checkpoint</field>
    <field name="Authorative">false</field>
There used to be a signature here.

User avatar
NoFaTe
Blazin' your Brains!
Posts:520
Joined:Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:22 pm
Contact: Website

Re: ELO and Skill level

Wed Jul 02, 2014 7:55 pm

Rodney wrote:I might have missed a "as far as I can tell" there, but that would explain why everybody has a "0" as value for this stats key (according to the API).

Also according to the server files it is read-only:

Code: Select all

    <field name="Name">level</field>
    <field name="Description" />
    <field name="DefaultValue">0</field>
    <field name="ValueType">PersistentValueType_Set</field>
    <field name="ClientFlags">PersistentValueProtection_ReadOnly</field>
    <field name="ServerFlags">PersistentValueProtection_ReadOnly</field>
    <field name="WritePolicy">PersistentValueWritePolicy_Disconnect</field>
    <field name="Authorative">false</field>

While for example elo/elo0/elo1 are defined as read/write for the server.

Code: Select all

    <field name="Name">elo</field>
    <field name="Description" />
    <field name="DefaultValue">1000.0</field>
    <field name="ValueType">PersistentValueType_Set</field>
    <field name="ClientFlags">PersistentValueProtection_ReadOnly</field>
    <field name="ServerFlags">PersistentValueProtection_ReadAndWrite</field>
    <field name="WritePolicy">PersistentValueWritePolicy_Checkpoint</field>
    <field name="Authorative">false</field>

There are four fields that are tagged as 'ReadOnly', out of which only one is currently calculated by the backend, the second one is insignificant, the third one is unused, and the fourth one is 'level', which I had never seen before.

However, since there are no 'references' as to how it's calculated (as opposed to other fields like 'score'), I will have to somehow figure it out on my own based on official stat values (which is how I figured out 'score' initially, before looking at the files).

This might take some time, but I'll keep you guys posted.
[03:55:41] <~Bag> Yes, I can put things inside me when I need to

User avatar
Rodney
Posts:427
Joined:Mon Dec 17, 2012 7:56 pm
Location:On the Battlefield
Contact: Website WLM Yahoo Messenger AOL Facebook Skype Twitter YouTube

Re: ELO and Skill level

Wed Jul 02, 2014 8:07 pm

NoFaTe wrote:There are four fields that are tagged as 'ReadOnly', out of which only one is currently calculated by the backend, the second one is insignificant, the third one is unused, and the fourth one is 'level', which I had never seen before.

However, since there are no 'references' as to how it's calculated (as opposed to other fields like 'score'), I will have to somehow figure it out on my own based on official stat values (which is how I figured out 'score' initially, before looking at the files).

This might take some time, but I'll keep you guys posted.

As far as I can tell "level" can only be seen in the leaderboard in the column "Skill Level". It isn't really important afaik.
There used to be a signature here.

User avatar
NoFaTe
Blazin' your Brains!
Posts:520
Joined:Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:22 pm
Contact: Website

Re: ELO and Skill level

Wed Jul 02, 2014 8:11 pm

Rodney wrote:As far as I can tell "level" can only be seen in the leaderboard in the column "Skill Level". It isn't really important afaik.

Yes, but leaderboards are fun. :D
[03:55:41] <~Bag> Yes, I can put things inside me when I need to

User avatar
Rodney
Posts:427
Joined:Mon Dec 17, 2012 7:56 pm
Location:On the Battlefield
Contact: Website WLM Yahoo Messenger AOL Facebook Skype Twitter YouTube

Re: ELO and Skill level

Wed Jul 02, 2014 8:11 pm

NoFaTe wrote:
Rodney wrote:As far as I can tell "level" can only be seen in the leaderboard in the column "Skill Level". It isn't really important afaik.

Yes, but leaderboards are fun. :D

Are you teasing possible implementation of leaderboards :o
There used to be a signature here.

User avatar
weavii
Posts:151
Joined:Tue Dec 24, 2013 2:08 pm

Re: ELO and Skill level

Wed Jul 02, 2014 11:08 pm

we are talking about the "level" value that is capped at 200 right?
i haven't found anything useful, only vague explanations or "legit" quotes of dice devs talking about "level" in bf4.
Image

Return to “Game Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests